Leni King’s Next Big Thing

Hi Everyone,

Well I am truly honoured, because not one, but two writers have tagged me for The Next Big Thing Blog Hop / My Next big Thing. As you can imagine I am very excited and flattered about such an accolade.

But first a big thank you to Vanessa Wu (http://intensesensations.wordpress.com) and to Charming Man (http://www.charmingman.com) for nominating me. The questions from each varied a tiny bit, so I have taken the liberty of merging the two. So here goes!

1) What is the working title of your current/next book?
My current book, which has been published for just 7 weeks is ‘Lesbian Juices, Volume I’  It has received great feedback so far, which has really encouraged me to keep up the pace. So, meanwhile I have been busy working on Volume II, which comprises another substantial collection of poetry and two short stories. Volume II is due out by the end of February.
2) Where did the idea for the book come from?
The world of publishing seems to be flooded with straight Erotica and with a couple of notable exceptions, most Lesbian Erotica is poorly written and often not even written by lesbians. Additionally I have always had a mad passion for poetry, with Shakespeare’s Sonnets (the best of them being to The Young Man) and John Donne among those all-time greats I admire most for their intensely metaphysical romantic imagery.
3) What genre does your book fall under?
Lesbian Erotica
4) If you could pick actors to play the lead characters in your
story, who would you pick?
Well for that I should refer to the two short stories in Volume II in which although are very different would come to life with the sultry Ruta Gedmintas (below, right) playing at least one of the roles.ruta
5) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
Lesbian Juices Volume I is self-published and is on Amazon (Kindle) (see link, right, on blog page). For volume II, I am seriously considering publishing it straight onto Smashwords, but have not made my final decision yet. My graphic designer is is the process of working on the cover as we speak!
6) How long did it take you to write your first draft of your manuscript?
That’s a difficult one as many of the poems are very personal and written in moments of great joy or despair. The short stories are more recent but still and draw a lot on my personal experience and story ideas over a period of many years.
7) Give a one-sentence synopsis of your book
Both volumes offer deep insights into lesbian life and profoundly arousing imagery which penetrates the true spirit of love.
8) What other works would you compare your book to?
I have not read any other poetry which is both lesbian and so explicitly erotic.
9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?
In terms of short stories, one that deeply influenced me when I first read it many years ago is Katherine Forest’s erotic novella O Captain, My Captain. More recently, it is a desire to balance the flood of straight erotica out there with something written by a lesbian about lesbians as well as, frankly, the sheer joy of writing and being unable to put off my creative desires any longer!
9) What else might pique the reader’s interest?
Feedback so far is that the poems in Volume I are “erotically exciting and emotionally moving”.

Well that’s enough about me! Let me know what you think of the interview and my work. Here are the five authors I have tagged as admiring in hopes you will check out their work and that they will continue the blog hop:

T.L. Waid http://www.waidbooks.com/

Xan Fenwick

Alicia Clark

eden baylee

Penelope Jones

About Leniking

Lesbian, published erotic writer, lover of life, education and experience in many fields including English literature, herstory and counselling
This entry was posted in Erotic Poems, Love and Nature, Passion, Queer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Leni King’s Next Big Thing

  1. Vanessa says:

    Lovely interview, Leni. You might be interested in KT Grant’s lesbian fiction appreciation event, which is happening next month. http://kbgbabbles.blogspot.co.uk/2012/11/announcing-2013-lesbian-fiction.html

Leave a Reply

