Blame Game by Leni King

It’s not my fault
You burnt the cake

You stirred it,
Mixed it,
Baked it
Burnt it

Did I speak to you too much?
Love you too long?
What did I do wrong?

You burnt the cake
But I’m sorry OK?

It’s not my fault
Your ex keeps calling
She taunts you at night

Did I ask you to pick up the phone?
Did I fail to kiss you long enough?
Don’t I make a sensual loving home?

I can’t take the blame
That he raped you at age 13
Can’t be responsible for the pain
For nightmares uninvited,
Unwanted guests at the door

I can’t take the blame
For your hard to heal shame
Or that because of it all
You prefer to give more
Than to take, my love, and
That that it makes you happy
To call me a dirty whore

I can’t take the blame
But if I could,
I would
I’m sorry for it all
It’s not your fault,
I’ll take the blame
Put it all on me, my love

Shout at me
Beat me
Whip me
Abuse me

For I love you so
That if it heals your heart
I’m sorry, so sorry and
I can’t say no
I’ll take the blame

About Leniking

Lesbian, published erotic writer, lover of life, education and experience in many fields including English literature, herstory and counselling
This entry was posted in abuse, BDSM, blame, Erotic Poems, Love and Nature, Passion, Queer, rape and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blame Game by Leni King

  1. Oh Leni that is so heart wrenching! The agony and the ecstasy of true love. I’m deeply moved by this piece Leni, deeply moved.

  2. Bad Penny says:

    Leni… I super loved the poem. It was heart wrenching, real, and it tore apart the outer layers of a relationship and showed the true feelings we have when something of this magnitude happens. Thank you for sharing, it touched my heart.

    Penelope Jones- Spanking it since 1996! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Blame Game by Leni King « Broken Notes

  4. Lily Pollux says:

    Bit of a heavy experience, I admire your ability to share. The problem is you don’t realise how damaging some relationships can be till you leave.

Leave a Reply

